Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

a0589799661_10

Grey Skies Fallen – The Many Sides of Truth – 8/10

(This review was re-written and released for Nocturnal Hall Magazine. It can be found here: http://www.nocturnalhall.com/reviews/G/gsf_truth_e.html)

– This is a band that I have been listening to since I discovered them on Myspace (way back when). Their entire discography is free on their bandcamp page and I have tried my best to promote them as much as possible. Like As Blood Runs Black (whose latest release will be reviewed shortly), this is a band that has struggled and sometimes it seemed due to lineup changes and lack of promotion that there would not be another Grey Skies Fallen album. But they have pushed on and are now on their 4th studio album (originally it was just gonna be an EP but got extended to a full length). Similar to my reaction of the new Agalloch album, I was surprised about the low rating, but like Agalloch I believe it has to do with the hype in my mind that I’ve given this band because of how high important their previous albums are to me. Also, like Agalloch, I believe it has to do with the pacing of the album. There are 3 instrumental acoustic guitar pieces that break up the flow of the longer songs. Also, the album goes through stretches of dark and heavy moments, which is not a bad thing. However for me, my favorite GSF moments are the clean vocals over the uplifting chord progressions, which really bring out the vocals. This album is a contrast to that. The overall tone on this album is dark, and the uplifting moments are hard to find. I think the end of the song “End of My Rope” is definitely one of the highlights on the album, and I would have liked to see more of that. But I’ve still got to give this album a good score because there is so much power, energy, and beauty on this album. I think for anyone who is not already a GSF album, this is a great way to show them just what this band is capable of, and why they should be bigger. It is full of memorable hooks, aggression, and it introduces a psychedelic element to the band thanks to some old school sounding organ. In other words, it helps show yet another side of this talented group of musicians.

