Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Falloch_This-Island-Our-Funeral

Falloch – This Island, Our Funeral – 8.25/10

-Named after The Falls of Falloch waterfalls in Scotland, this Scottish band was one of my favorite new discoveries when I came about their 2011 debut, Where Distant Spirits Remain. They have that black metal/folk/shoegaze blend like Agalloch. However, they seem to receive a lot of hate. People say that they are just ripping off the sound of Agalloch and adding emo style clean vocals so that girls can get into this style of music. I hate this kind of elitist mentality. This album is full of great ideas. Great vocal melodies, use of folk instruments and keyboards in the background, and droning guitar sounds at the forefront, just as I like them. At 52 minutes, I can see how this can be a tedious album to get through if you are not into this style of music. It may just feel like more of the same to you after a while. But whether I was listening to this album with all my focus and attention on it, or whether I had it as background music while I was doing stuff, I loved every second of it. I would have loved to have seen more diversity from the vocals (I noticed the singer getting in a comfort zone where he would go for the same melodies), but seeing as it was his first album as the vocalist of Falloch, perhaps there is more diversity headed our way in the future. I was happy to see that they were able to bounce back after losing the vocalist of the first album, and perhaps they will continue to gain steam and attention as the continue to promote themselves in the coming years. I would love to see that happen because as of right now, this band is not getting the attention that I believe they deserve.

